Bakersfield Criminal Defense Lawyers
Facing Robbery Charges? Call Today!
California defines the crime of robbery in Penal Code 211 PC as “the
felonious taking of personal property in the possession of another, from
his person or immediate presence, and against his will, accomplished by
means of force or fear." Essentially what this means is taking something
from someone against their will by force or through intimidation. A man
who holds up a woman in a back alley and steals her purse at knife point,
a masked criminal who accosts a bank teller at gunpoint, or a smooth operator
who drugs a victim at a bar and steals their possessions while they were
unconscious have all committed the
theft crime of robbery.
As stated in the legal definition, robbery is considered a felony in the
state of California, which means that you should retain legal representation
from a Bakersfield criminal defense attorney without delay if you are
accused of this crime. At
Campbell Whitten, we can help you fight back against any criminal charges you may face,
utilizing a team-oriented approach to each case that relentlessly pursues
the best possible outcome. Our experience and dedication to client service
has earned us numerous recognitions from our peers and industry experts,
including being named one of
Newsweek’s 14 Best Criminal Defense Attorneys in 2014, and inclusion in the
Top 100 Trial Lawyers by The National Trial Lawyers.
Call Campbell Whitten today at 661.735.1038 and schedule your initial case
evaluation with our attorneys now!
Penalties for Robbery
If you are found guilty of robbery, the exact penalties you could be facing
are depending on a number of circumstances of your crime. There are two
degrees of robbery, with first-degree charges carrying heavier penalties
Penalties of first-degree robbery can include:
- Between three and nine years in prison
- A fine of up to $10,000
- Formal probation
- A strike under the “three strikes law”
- Loss of rights due to felony conviction
Second-degree robbery penalties can range between two and five years in
prison as well as a fine of up to $10,000. Your penalties can also be
augmented by aggravating factors, including the use of a firearm (adds
10 years to your sentence), discharging a firearm in the robbery (adds
20 years to your sentence), or causing great bodily harm or death while
commissioning a robbery (adds 25 years to life to your sentence).
Don’t wait to start fighting back against your charges,
contact Campbell Whitten online now and get started on your case!