DUIs from Illicit Drugs
Let a Bakersfield Drugged Driving Lawyer Defend Your Freedom
In the state of California, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while
under the influence of drugs (DUID). A DUID conviction can carry heavy
legal consequences and expose a person to a jail time, fines, and a lengthy
driver’s license suspension. If you have been accused of driving
under the influence of illicit drugs, it is imperative you retain the
services of a hard-hitting Bakersfield drugged driving lawyer from Campbell
Whitten to protect your reputation and freedom.
Request a complimentary consultation
today to review your legal options.
What Drugs are Prohibited?
A person can be charged with DUID if they are pulled over and found with
traces of any type of illicit or prescription drug in their system. No
exception is given for lawful users of medical marijuana. While alcohol
intoxication can be proven by examining a person’s blood alcohol
concentration (BAC), no such standard exists for measuring a person’s
intoxication from drugs. The state must prove a defendant was impaired
while driving in order to secure a conviction, rather than simply showing
that they ingested a drug and then drove.
DUID charges can be related to the use of any of the following drugs:
What are the Penalties for Drugged Driving?
California imposes harsh penalties for those who are convicted of drugged
driving. While a DUID is subject to the same penalties as a standard alcohol
DUI charge, a DUID charges are often paired with a concurrent charge of
“being” under the influence of illicit drugs, a Health and
Safety Code violation. If a person is charged with both a DUID and a Health
and Safety Code violation, they will not be eligible for alternative sentencing
such as rehab or diversion and can face a mandatory minimum 90 day jail
sentence. In certain scenarios, an attorney can negotiate with the prosecution
for a reduction or dismissal of one of these charges to secure a lesser sentence.
A first offense DUID can bring the following penalties:
- Up to six months in jail
- Fines up to $1,000
- License suspension up to six months
- DUI treatment program participation
These penalties can increase in severity depending on a person’s
prior history of DUID convictions, whether or not anyone was injured as
a result of their intoxication, and whether or not a person consented
to a chemical test. In some situations, these aggravating circumstances
can escalate these charges from a misdemeanor to a felony, carrying penalties
up to ten years in state prison and up to $5,000 in fines.
More Than 10,000 Cases Handled – Call (661) 735-1038
If you are facing charges for driving under the influence of illegal drugs,
Bakersfield criminal defense lawyer from Campbell Whitten can protect your freedom against these consequences.
Our attorneys understand the gravity of your situation and are prepared
to do everything within our power in the pursuit of a reduction or dismissal
of your charges. From aggressive plea negotiations to relentless trial
defense, we are prepared to go the distance on your behalf to help you
get through this difficult time. Do not leave your future in the hands
of an inexperienced public defender. Let us put our vast knowledge and
skills to work for you!
Contact our office online
today to get started towards retaining the defense you deserve.