Preliminary Alcohol Screening (PAS) Tests
A Bakersfield DUI Lawyer can Defend Your Rights
If you should ever be pulled over for a suspected DUI, it is highly likely
that an officer will subject you to a Preliminary Alcohol Screening, or
“PAS” test. Like any other field sobriety test, this is simply
a tool for an officer to assess your level of intoxication and determine
probable cause to make an arrest. As opposed to a post-arrest chemical
test, a PAS test is entirely voluntary under most cases, unless you are
under 21 years of age or are on probation for a prior DUI offense.
Call a Bakersfield DUI lawyer today at (661) 735-1038.
What Exactly is a PAS Test?
A PAS test can involve either an officer requesting a detained driver to
blow into a handled breathalyzer or taking a saliva swab to test a driver’s
blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Regardless of the type of test requested,
these assessments are administered solely for the purposes of an officer
to determine if a driver has been drinking enough for an arrest. The accuracy
of these tests can be questionable at best, though they are still used
Should I Submit to a PAS Test?
If you are 21 years of age or older and are not on probation for DUI, it
is wise to politely refuse a PAS test. The results of these tests can
only harm you later on in court, so there is no reason why you should
help an officer prove their case. By law, police officers are required
to inform you that these tests are optional, though in many cases officers
have been known to present them as if they are mandatory. If you have
not been arrested, you do not have to take any tests!
What if I Have Been Arrested?
It is only after an arrest has been made that submitting to a chemical
test is mandatory. California has an “implied consent” statute
that says that by holding a California driver’s license, you are
already consenting to any chemical test that an officer may request in
the event that you should be lawfully arrested for a suspected DUI. An
officer must give you the choice between a breath or blood test. If you
refuse, your license will automatically be suspended for a minimum of
one year, with additional years added for any previous test refusals on
If you have been arrested for DUI, retaining the services of a trial-tested
legal team is imperative to protect your future. At Campbell Whitten,
our firm’s dedicated Bakersfield DUI attorneys can craft a custom-tailored
defense against your charges and maximize your chances of securing a case
dismissal or reduction of your charges. Having handled more than 10,000
cases throughout our firm’s existence, we know your rights and we
know how to get results.
Get started towards retaining the defense you need by
contacting our office online