So you’ve finally finished serving the agonizing license suspension
as part of your DUI conviction and you’re ready to get back behind
the wheel without restriction. What you may not realize is that this ability
isn’t automatically granted and your privileges in their full capacity
are not automatically restored when you finally finish your sentence.
Instead, you have to petition the DMV to reinstate your license, which
requires a few additional steps you’ll have to follow. However,
you can get back behind the wheel and driving like normal sooner by simply
following these tips and guidelines.
Reinstating your license involves a several-step process which you must
follow at your local branch of the DMV.
First, you must have completed
all of your DUI penalties, including serving a prison or jail sentence and
any state-mandated DUI programs if you were given one
- Second, you must have paid all associated fees, including any fines required
to the court, plus your reinstatement and reissue fees to the DMV (more
info on those in a moment)
- Third, you must bring a proof of insurance or financial responsibility
to the DMV. This can include a California Insurance Proof Certificate
(also called a Form SR-22) from your insurance carrier, a self-insurer
certificate under the California Vehicle Code, a surety bond, or a cash
deposit of $35,000.
So long as you have brought all of these things to the DMV, you’ll
need to fill out a few different forms, and once they are verified as
complete, your license will be reinstated. Most likely you’ll be
given a temporary paper license until your new card can be sent to you.
You may also need to re-take your license picture and update your information.
When you go to reinstate your driver’s license, you’ll have
to pay several fees to the DMV, and they add up quickly.
- The Admin Per Se fee (APS), is $125 for all those who were over the age
of 21 when convicted and $100 for those under the age of 21.
- All DUI reissues will be subject to the DUI reissue fee of $55
- Repeat offenders will be required to pay a court restriction fee of $15
and then another $20 to remove it when the restriction is lifted (which
may or may not be at the same time you reinstate your license)
You’ll also be required to pay court fees, costs, fines, and penalties
associated with a DUI conviction before your reinstatement. These fees
will vary based on where you are arraigned (someone charged in L.A. County
will face different charges here in Kern County), but fines will usually
include a $1,000 fine plus over $2,600 in penalty assessments.
For more information on DUI penalties and reinstating your license, speak
with a Bakersfield DUI attorney from Campbell Whitten today! Dial 661-735-1038 for a