California Drug Possession Charges
Call (661) 735-1038 for Experienced & Skilled Legal Representation
If you have been arrested for or charged with a drug possession offense
in California, an aggressive and experienced lawyer can help you avoid
the devastating consequences of a
drug crime conviction. At
Campbell Whitten, we are committed to protecting the rights, reputations, and futures of
all our clients. Our Bakersfield
criminal defense attorneys can thoroughly review your case and determine all of your available
legal options in order to either get your entire case dismissed or your
Penalties & Sentences After Prop 47
Whether actual or constructive (i.e. having access or being near), possession
of a controlled substance refers to having drugs under your control. In
November 2014, California voters passed Prop 47, which reduces most simple
drug possession arrests from possible felony charges with state prison
time to misdemeanor offenses.
Any simple possession of the following drugs can result in a misdemeanor charge:
- MDMA or ecstasy
- Prescription drugs without approval from a physician
If convicted of drug possession in California, you face a maximum county
jail sentence of one year and a fine of up to $1,000. But if you have
a prior conviction for any serious felonies or for a sex crime that subjects
you to California’s sex offender registration requirement, you will
face felony penalties that include a prison sentence of 16 months, two
years, or three years.
Schedule a Free Consultation Today!
In many cases, drug possession charges can be addressed through negotiated
resolutions, such as diversion programs, in order to avoid criminal convictions.
In other cases, challenging probable cause and the methods law enforcement
used to obtain evidence can result in dismissal of charges. If the case
goes to trial, our Bakersfield criminal defense lawyers are ready to fight
aggressively on your behalf.
Contact us and discuss your legal options right away!