California Sexual Assault Crimes
Falsely Accused of Sexual Battery?
Being accused of sexual assault or battery in California is a serious matter.
Due to the stigma associated with
sex crimes, accusations alone can cause severe damage to an individual’s personal
and professional reputation.
criminal defense attorneys at
Campbell Whitten defends clients against sexual assault charges. There are several defenses
available which could result in a case dismissal or reduction of your charge.
Sexual Battery Laws & Penalties
In California, sexual battery – often referred to as sexual assault
– prohibits the unwanted touching of someone else’s intimate
body parts for purposes of sexual arousal, gratification, or abuse. Sexual
battery is considered a misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum jail sentence
of one year and a fine of up to $2000. If the alleged victim is an employee
of the defendant, then the fine increases to $3,000.
However, if certain aggravating factors are present, then sexual battery
charge can be elevated to a felony. A felony sexual battery conviction
results in a prison sentence of two, three, or four years, as well as
a fine of up to $10,000.
Felony penalties apply if:
- The alleged victim was unlawfully restrained.
- The alleged victim was institutionalized and either medically incapacitated
or seriously disabled
- The alleged victim was unaware of the nature of the act due to being fraudulently
convicted that touching was for professional purposes.
- The alleged victim was forced to masturbate or touch one of the defendant’s
intimate parts or parts of another person.
Remember, a misdemeanor and felony conviction for sexual battery are also
punishable by registration as a sex offender.
Call Us at (661) 735-1038 Today!
If you are being falsely accused of sexual battery, it is imperative to
speak with an experienced criminal defense lawyer. We can thoroughly review
your case and develop an effective case strategy to obtain the most favorable
Contact us and request a free consultation.