Campbell Whitten: The Top Bakersfield DUI Attorneys
In the state of California, drinking and driving is considered a major
public health issue which impacts individuals as well as the communities
they reside in. Because driving under the influence (DUI) can result in
catastrophic loss of life or injury to personal or public property, California
has imposed a number of costs onto the criminal and civil proceedings.
These costs can differ depending on the specific circumstances of an individual’s
suspected DUI case. The consequences of being stopped for drinking and
driving can result in serious repercussions.
It is never a safe or smart choice to get behind the wheel after consuming
alcohol, using drugs or otherwise being in a compromised mental or physical
state. Driving under the influence threatens life and could result in
tremendous costs which impact just about every aspect of a person’s life.
Typical California DUI Costs:
Court Fine - a DUI Charge typically results in a minimum of a $2000 fine.
Alcohol Awareness Training - a DUI charge typically results in the need
to take a 3 month course which costs a minimum of $600.
DMV License Reinstatement Fee - a DUI charge typically results in the need
to pay a minimum of $180 to have an individual driver’s license
In all, $2,780 is the MINIMUM a DUI charge will cost in the state of California.
Other Potential DUI Costs
Insurance Premiums - Your insurance rates could go up if you are convicted
of a DUI charge.
Attorney Fees - Defending a DUI charge could result in fees to a legal
expert, whether you win or lose your case.
Accident Fees - If you damaged personal or public property, you could face
fees to repay the damages you caused.
Miscellaneous Fees - Depending on the circumstances of your case, many
other fees could be levied against you for things such as towing or storing
your car or installing DUI maintenance hardware on your vehicle.
You Need the Right Bakersfield DUI Lawyer
If you are facing a DUI charge, you need to
contact Campbell Whitten