Strong & Honest Advocacy
Se Habla Español 661.771.3077
Understanding Robbery Charges and How to Fight Them Campbell Whitten is here to help you fight any battle!

Bakersfield Criminal Defense Lawyers

Facing Robbery Charges? Call Today!

California defines the crime of robbery in Penal Code 211 PC as “the felonious taking of personal property in the possession of another, from his person or immediate presence, and against his will, accomplished by means of force or fear." Essentially what this means is taking something from someone against their will by force or through intimidation.

A man who holds up a woman in a back alley and steals her purse at knife point, a masked criminal who accosts a bank teller at gunpoint, or a smooth operator who drugs a victim at a bar and steals their possessions while they were unconscious have all committed the theft crime of robbery.

As stated in the legal definition, robbery is considered a felony in the state of California, which means that you should retain legal representation from a Bakersfield criminal defense attorney without delay if you are accused of this crime. At Campbell Whitten, we can help you fight back against any criminal charges you may face, utilizing a team-oriented approach to each case that relentlessly pursues the best possible outcome.

Our experience and dedication to client service has earned us numerous recognitions from our peers and industry experts, including being named one of Newsweek’s 14 Best Criminal Defense Attorneys in 2014, and inclusion in the Top 100 Trial Lawyers by The National Trial Lawyers.

Call Campbell Whitten today at (661) 771-3077 and schedule your initial case evaluation with our attorneys now!

Penalties for Robbery

If you are found guilty of robbery, the exact penalties you could be facing are depending on a number of circumstances of your crime. There are two degrees of robbery, with first-degree charges carrying heavier penalties than second-degree.

Penalties of first-degree robbery can include:

  • Between three and nine years in prison
  • A fine of up to $10,000
  • Formal probation
  • A strike under the “three strikes law”
  • Loss of rights due to felony conviction

Second-degree robbery penalties can range between two and five years in prison as well as a fine of up to $10,000. Your penalties can also be augmented by aggravating factors, including the use of a firearm (adds 10 years to your sentence), discharging a firearm in the robbery (adds 20 years to your sentence), or causing great bodily harm or death while commissioning a robbery (adds 25 years to life to your sentence).

Don’t wait to start fighting back against your charges, contact Campbell Whitten online now and get started on your case!